Boiling Springs, Mechanicsburg, and Lower Dauphin crowned PIAA 2022 field hockey state champs

The finals of the PIAA State field hockey tournament lived up to the hype.

Every game was a nailbiter with dramatic goals and down-to-the-wire finishes. The three state title winners – Boiling Springs (1A), Mechanicsburg (2A), and Lower Dauphin (3A) – all come from the Mid Penn conference in District 3.

1A: Boiling Springs 1, Wyoming Area 0

Boiling Springs field hockey has had a season to remember. They not only brought home Class 1A District 3 and State championships, both for the first time in school history, they remained undefeated doing it. The Bubblers play in the Capital Division of the Mid Penn.

A Reagan Eickhoff goal with 3 minutes left in the fourth quarter powered her team to an emotional win over District 2 Wyoming Area. Both the Bubblers and the Warriors made history with a first-time showing in the PIAA State finals.

2A: Mechanicsburg 1, Palmyra 0

In their first state tournament appearance, the Wildcats stunned the District 3 top-ranked Palmyra in overtime. Gracyn Catalano’s goal gave the Wildcats the win. It was the first time Mechanicsburg has won a state title in any sport.

In their last meeting during the District 3 playoffs, Palmyra beat Mechanicsburg 2-1 and advanced to the finals where they beat Hershey. Mechanicsburg beat Twin Valley to place third. The Cougars and Wildcats both play in the Keystone division of the Mid Penn have played each other a total of four times during their 2022 seasons.

3A: Lower Dauphin 3, Wilson 2

While making appearances in the 2018, 2019, and 2021 PIAA State finals, Lower Dauphin was able to close the deal in 2022. It was a repeat of the 2019 season where the Falcons, from the Keystone Division of the Mid Penn, and the Bulldogs, from Berks conference Division I, faced off for the Class 3A State title. Wilson won in shootouts.

But this year, Avery Pollock’s overtime goal put the Falcons up and gave them a state championship win that has evaded their reach since winning back-to-back titles in 2012 and 2013. Katelyn Strawser scored during regulation along with Laney Johns. Catherine Arentz and Emma Staron had the two goals for Wilson.

*This story has been updated to reflect that Katelyn Strawser scored one goal during LD’s regulation.

Share the Post:

Related Posts